White Lentils or Urad Daal

This Urad Daal recipe comes from my mother, she always made it when I was growing up in Pakistan.  I tried making it the same way, and I think its pretty close to hers but I still believe that hers is the best 🙂

Here’s the recipe:

*Two cups of Urad Daal/white lentils (I soaked it for about 15-30 minutes)

*One Medium Size Onion (chopped)

*half teaspoon of Crushed Garlic

*3 Quarter teaspoon of Crushed Ginger

*1 levelled teaspoon salt

*1/2 teaspoon of whole cumin seeds

*1/2 teaspoon of whole coriander seeds

*7-8 Round Red chilli (Dried kind)

*few tablespoons of Olive oil and a tablespoon of Butter (you can skip the butter if you’re vegan)

Firstly, I washed the lentils and added them to a pot with about half cup of water to boil (I added a table spoon of butter because I like the way the taste more).

When it started to boil I added Ginger, Garlic and Salt and turned it low to simmer.  In another pan, I added EVOO and Onions, let it sauté until its golden brown or caramelized, then I added Cumin and Coriander ( I crushed them a little with my hands or mortor and pestle). Red Round Dry Red Chilli (easily available in Indian Grocery Stores or just used the Long dry red chilli or break them into little pieces of you like).  Add the Onion Mixture to your lentils and let it cook for 5 more minutes, Mix and Serve.

Its really easy and simple Recipe, whole cooking process takes about 30 minutes and turns out really yummy.  can be served with either white/brown rice or with Roti (indian bread) or eat with with a yummy salad if you’re grain free.  If you want to see benefits of Urad Daal, read here.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Looks yummy, Iffat!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Aysha on April 27, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    I definatly need this iron filled pick-me-up dal tomorrow. Looks so good. U need to make a tutorial on that tomatoe flower 😉 awesome job Iffat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

