My Favorite Quinoa Recipe

I have to admit that I am obsessed with Quinoa, in any way or form its something that fulfils me without giving me that heavy feeling no matter how much I eat.
Moreover, this is my favorite way to make it into a quick, healthy, nutritious and delicious meal anytime of the day.  I love how this recipe doesn’t need any extra prep time, esp in the mornings when you wake up, you put a pot of Quinoa on the stove to cook and raid your refrigerator and take all those miscellaneous produce out that was waiting to be used up.  Quinoa takes about 10-15 minutes to cook (just enough time for you to make a new salad) and a perfect meal is ready.  its so simple, easy and no fuss involved.  I also love to eat quinoa with the crunch of raw veggies and somehow I almost always try to incorporate Oranges in my salad to go with Quinoa, i think oranges add a new dimension to the simplicity of Quinoa.  Here is my go to recipe, anytime of the day:

*2 cups of Organic Quinoa

*1 and half cup water to cook

*2-3 teaspoons of Organic extra virgin Olive Oil

*1 teaspoon of sea salt

*Quarter teaspoon of black pepper

*Quarter teaspoon of garlic powder or 1 small clove of chopped garlic

*Quarter teasooon of Cayenne pepper

You can wash it in a strainer and dump the washed quinoa in a pot with Olive Oil, Salt, Black Pepper, Cayenne Pepper, Garlic and water to cook.  Let it boil, then mix it and leave it covered to simmer on low heat for 10 more minutes.  In the mean time you cut up what ever you find interesting to make a nice salad and dress it with lime/lemon juice and Olive oil.  After 10 minutes, turn the flame off but DO NOT open or peek the quinoa at the point.  This is very important because you being impatient will result in not so yummy and fully bloomed Quinoa, if you leave it un touched for 5 minutes after its turned off, it was cook in that carry over time and steam to its perfection, and you will find every tiny grain of Quinoa, blossomed into perfection and retain all the nutritional value intact.  Now its time to enjoy the yummy quinoa with your favorite raw veggies and some citrus whether it be lemon or oranges.  Feel free to increase or decrease the spices as you like.

Enjoy

Here is a link for another amazing recipe of this miraculous grain along with its wonderful health benefits:

Best quinoa recipes

9 responses to this post.

  1. Deelish! If it’s got cayenne, then I’m on board!

    Reply

  2. What’s in the side salad inside the romaine lettuce leaf? That looks yummy!

    Reply

    • Michele, Romaine leaf only had red onions, plum tomatoes and Avocados with a little bit of freshly squeezed lemon juice but, sky is the limit with it. If I had Oranges that day, I would totally add them in it too. Thanks so much for coming over Michele, and please let me know if you try it out.

      Reply

  3. Loved the sound of this so much, I am making it right now! I took a sneak bite and it is yummy!!! Thanks for the recipe!

    xo, Tina

    Reply

  4. Posted by Aysha on April 27, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    So should u always wash quinoa like you would rice…until water runs clear?

    Reply

    • yes, I have heard its best too, however I don’t and thats only becuase I mostly buy the pre-washed ones thats organic. I think its “Ancient Harvest”.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

