Spinach Shakshuka

spniachshakshukaI have always been a huge fan of one pot meals and that was the main reasons I fell in love with the concept of Shakshuka.  I know whenever I say “Shakshuka” I either get a blank stare or a weird look that usually makes me think I have suddenly grown some antlers on my head.

So bear with me, here is some history about this beautiful and satisfying dish:  Shakshuka is a middle-eastern recipe, believed to have started from either Tunisia or Libya.  It is a wondrous meal consisting of eggs poached in a sauce of tomatoes, chili peppers, and onions, often spiced with cumin.

What I love about this dish is that it is a blank canvas. I can choose to make it super simple or very complex.  Some mornings when I have left over vegetables in the fridge, I can throw whatever  I have to use as soon as possible and braise my eggs in it. So, you see, its really a very adaptable and flexible meal that could be vegetarian or you add some ground beef/chicken or whatever protein you like. It is already gluten free (you can use gluten free bread to eat it or salad) and dairy free.

Ingredients:

1 small onion
1  garlic clove
a bag of baby spinach
2-3 plum tomatoes
Half teasp of cumin seeds
Salt and pepper to taste
1 or half Jalapeno pepper (optional)
4-5 eggs

Method:

I started with sautéing an onion in a little olive oil for a couple minutes then added a chopped garlic clove and tomatoes, sauté for a couple minutes more and added spinach and cover with lid to let it wilt for a minute or two.  Add Cumin seeds or quarter sp of cumin powder and salt/pepper/Jalapeno according to your taste.  Make small indentions or holes for about 4-5 eggs and leave a small space between each egg.  Add eggs in each indentation and sprinkle salt and pepper on top of egg (Optional) and let it cook on low flame covered until eggs appear to be set upon opening the lid.  At this point if you like you can transfer your oven safe pan under the broiler for a some time until the eggs starts to look set and not liquid.  Sprinkle some chopped herbs to dress it up and enjoy with your favorite bread.  Yum!! 😋

 

Leave a comment